Public Works Department Banner, This link takes you back to home page


Sanitation Division

Santa Cruz County Sanitation (SCCSD) Sewer Billing
Freedom Sanitation District (FCSD) Sewer Billing
Davenport Sanitation District (DCSD) Sewer Billing
Sanitation County Service Areas Sewer Billing

Sewer Service Availability

The Sanitation Division of Santa Cruz Public Works is responsible for the collection of wastewater (sewage) for several sanitation districts and county service areas (CSAs) located within Santa Cruz County, providing drinking water and recycled water service (Davenport only), and Environmental Compliance. Please use the links on the left to obtain more information about our various districts and responsibilities.

Lateral Work in Public Right of Way

Did you know that any time work needs to be performed on laterals in the public-right-of-way, the work must be completed by a contractor cleared by the Sanitation District to work under the blanket encroachment permit?

List of Approved Contractors
Click here for more information about your lateral


SCCSD Board Meeting Agendas and Meetings Schedule

FCSD and DCSD Board of Supervisors Agendas and Meetings

Guide to What You Can and Can't Flush and Put down the Drain.

(copia en español de: Piense antes de vacear el inodor)

Please note: This department does not provide service to those residents who reside within the Santa Cruz City Limits, Watsonville City Limits, or Scotts Valley City Limits.


Pursuant to District Code Section 7.04.100, it is the property owner's responsibility to install & maintain an overflow or backflow protective device on your sewer lateral when any building's lowest floor elevation is less than one foot above the rim elevation of the nearest upstream manhole. For further information please contact (831) 454‐2160.

Sewer System Management Plan

Santa Cruz County has developed and is implementing a Sewer System Managment Plan (SSMP) pursuant to State Water Resources Control Board Order 2006‐003, Statewide General Discharge Requirements of Sanitary Sewer Systems. The goal of the SSMP is to minimize the frequency and severity of sanitary sewer overflows (SSO's). The SSMP covers the management, planning, design, and operation and maintenance of the County's sanitary sewer systems. Interested parties can contact the sanitation operations manager, Beatriz Barranco at 831‐477‐3907 for additional information.

2013 Sewer System Management Plan Audit


24 Hour Dispatch
(831) 477‐3907
Fax: (831) 462‐3973

Main Office
701 Ocean Street, Room 410
Santa Cruz, California 95060
(831) 454‐2160
Fax: (831) 454‐2089

Email Sanitation

Email Environmental Compliance

Email Public Works

Kent Edler
Assistant Director
Special Services

Ashleigh Trujillo
Sr. Civil Engineer
Sanitation Engineering

Beatriz Barranco
Sr. Civil Engineer
Sanitation Operations

Amy Miyakusu
Dept. Administrative Analyst
Sanitation Engineering

Leslie Rios
Pretreatment Program Specialist
Environmental Compliance
Marisol Goulett
Pretreatment Program Specialist
Environmental Compliance